Which is the right paraglider?

Good question, because in view of the sheer selection of paragliders, harnesses and accessories on the new and second hand market, the search for the new aircraft is not particularly easy. The second-hand market offers various offers with more or less serious content between the many manufacturers in a wide range of different performance classes and variants.

Beginner Screens

So how to find the right paraglider? Which paraglider suits me? Well, especially for beginners, the approach is actually quite simple. Keywords or LTF. The classification of the paragliders into their degree of difficulty is one of the most important features of whether a paraglider is the right one for you. According to LTF (airworthiness requirement), paragliders were identified by numbers according to their classification (1 = Suitable for training up to 3 = experts). According to the European standard (s), this is done via letters from A to D.

Since each glider responds differently to pilot failures and turbulences, each model requires different reactions and interventions by the pilot in order to return to a normal flight condition. The higher the passive safety and the damping behavior, the more error forgiving is the screen and the less the required intervention. Based on a predetermined catalogue of manoeuvres, the paragliding patterns of test pilots are thoroughly checked and then obtained an assessment of their characteristics. For more information on the classifications: Click

The basic rule for the beginner is therefore: the right paraglider always has only the classification LTF 1 or en a!

Exceptions in the old LTF classification exist only in the class 1-2 low, i.e. paragliders, which have only received a score of 1-2 in a few points. For myself, although I am no longer a bloody beginner, only a paraglider according to EN-A is the right one. This has the following reasons: On the one, I have a much more relaxed feeling with such a safe screen and can enjoy more because I do not have to fly actively. On the other, modern entry-level paragliders offer air services that no longer have to hide from intermediates. So for me it makes no sense to exchange higher security for a small performance increase.

Weight Range

The decisive factor for choosing the right paraglider for you is the permissible weight range of the glider, as well as the classification. This means that the respective models are available in different sizes and can therefore also carry more or less weight. A direct correlation exists within a paragliding model between the projected surface area and the pilot weight. With paragliders, you always work with a weight range, so don't panic if you have a little padding over the winter 😉. For example, if your glider is approved from 85kg to 105kg and your Harness Velvet Rescue And all Klimbim around, for example 15kg, you may bring 70kg to 90kg on the scales. So it is always considered the overall package, which hangs as a pendulum under the cloth. The meaning behind the classification of the weight classes is as follows: A higher weight increases the surface load on the paraglider, which makes it faster and more stable, but also decreases. The other way around, a lower surface load leads to a lower sink rate, but also increased risk of rattling by external influences. An under or exceeding of the weight data thus leads to a change in the screen behavior and possibly to a shift of the classification. So who means to take a particularly heavy souvenir from the starting place, don't be surprised if he suddenly flies an en-b screen into the valley, even though en-a is on it... well maybe a little exaggerated, but think about the permissible weight range!

Intermediates

So-called intermediates are paragliders for pilots with a lot of practice and regular flight experience. They are the right paragliders for people who want to ascend from the beginner class and yearn for a little more power and agility. Without compromise, this is unfortunately not to be guaranteed, so that a significantly increased pilot can also be present. So before you take the thought of buying an intermediate, you should realistically see yourself as a safe, experienced pilot, which also has turbulent weather and special flight conditions, no sweat beads on the forehead. If this is not quite true, it is better to fiddle with the beginner screen a little longer. The classification for intermediate screens is en-B and en-C or LTF 2.

Light Equipment

Another point is the planned application area of the paraglider. It is necessary to consider whether the equipment will be used for a longer distance on land or if you are coming to the starting place with a lift aid.

From his own experience, a two-hour ascent with a huge backpack of 20 kilos of mass is not particularly amusing – the focus brought my back to the incandescence and he prescribed me a forced break after the other. Remedy would have brought a lighter equipment in the form of a light glider with a suitable harness.

So anyone who likes to run hike & Fly is better served with such a but usually more expensive solution. But beware – here the handyness on the ground is clearly at the expense of durability and predominantly such equipment has nothing to look for in the fingers of beginners. Because often demanding flight behaviour and wear-prone lines and cloths are not suitable for training or Groundhandling.

High performance

You got it right and you control paragliding in your sleep? Your performance screen of the class LTF 2 or en-C does not make you any more and you have countless flight hours on the hump? Then you can venture into the premier class – if you dare.

An enormous stretching, large spans and high speeds require the pilot to do everything, but also reward with the greatest possible performance development.

Caution, only suitable for highly trained pilots!

Where can I find the right paraglider?

The best way to find your new paraglider would be, of course, an extensive consultation in the specialist shop and best still a test flight. Quite feasible for those whose accounts there are, many others may have to resort to the second-hand market. This offers a lot of choice, but also a lot of rancid equipment at inflated prices. So here is caution, and in many ways. I recommend to look at the merchandise at least personally and to be able to see any hidden errors. It would be best to raise the screen or even a test flight if possible. Even a comparison with the old examination documents often brings light into the dark. Of course, all papers and documents must also be agreed and the seal on the paraglider should be compared. Common sources for the used purchase are in addition to the DHV-second-hand market Also the usual classified ads portals.

What do I have to watch for with the right paraglider?

  • Classification
  • Weight Range
  • Documents: Operating instructions, verification instruction, marking on the device (approval!)
  • State
  • Compatibility with Harness

... and for the aesthetics among us of course the color 😉

Which one is the right paraglider for me? – Summary

The choice of the right paraglider basically depends on two decisive factors. For one, the pilot can be the parameter over which the classification of the screen is chosen. It is preferable to choose something safer than to be overwhelmed by flying and to take an accident risk. On the other hand, as with any other aircraft, the load plays an important role. Thus, the pilot with his equipment should never exceed the permissible weight range of the glider. Last but not least, the sample approval or the marking on the device itself must be checked before it goes to the further selection.

Welcher ist der richtige Gleitschirm?

Gute Frage, denn angesichts der schieren Auswahl an Gleitschirmen, Gurtzeugen und Zubeh├Âr auf dem Neu- und Gebrauchtmarkt gestaltet sich die Suche nach dem neuen Flugger├Ąt nicht besonders leicht. Zwischen haufenweise Neuschirmen der vielen Hersteller in den unterschiedlichsten Leistungsklassen und Varianten bietet auch der Gebrauchtmarkt diverse Angebote mit mehr oder weniger seri├Âsem Inhalt.

Anf├Ąngerschirme

Wie also nun den richtigen Gleitschirm finden? Welcher Gleitschirm passt zu mir? Nun ja, gerade f├╝r Anf├Ąnger ist die Herangehensweise eigentlich ziemlich einfach. Stichwort EN beziehungsweise LTF. Denn die Klassifizierung der Gleitschirme in ihren Schwierigkeitsgrad ist eines der wichtigsten Merkmale, ob ein Gleitschirm f├╝r Dich der richtige ist. Nach LTF (Luftt├╝chtigkeitsforderung) wurden Gleitschirme anhand von Zahlen nach ihrer Klassifizierung gekennzeichnet (1=Schulungstauglich bis 3=Experten). Nach europ├Ąischer Norm (EN) geschieht dies ├╝ber Buchstaben von A bis D.

Da jeder Gleitschirm auf Pilotenfehler und Turbulenzen anders reagiert erfordert jedes Modell andere Reaktionen und Eingriffe des Piloten, um in einen normalen Flugzustand zur├╝ck zu kehren. Je h├Âher dabei die passive Sicherheit und das D├Ąmpfungsverhalten ist, desto Fehler verzeihender ist der Schirm und umso geringer ist der erforderliche Eingriff. Anhand eines vorgegebenen Katalogs von Man├Âvern werden die Gleitschirmmuster von Testpiloten auf Herz und Nieren ├╝berpr├╝ft und erhalten anschlie├čend eine Bewertung ihrer Eigenschaften. F├╝r weitere Informationen zu den Klassifizierungen: klick

Die Grundregel f├╝r den Anf├Ąnger lautet deshalb: Der richtige Gleitschirm hat immer nur die Klassifizierung LTF 1 oder EN A!

Ausnahmen in der alten LTF-Klassifizierung bestehen nur in der Klasse 1-2 low, sprich Gleitschirme, die nur in wenigen Punkten die Bewertung von 1-2 bekommen haben. F├╝r mich selber w├Ąre, obwohl ich kein blutiger Anf├Ąnger mehr bin, nur ein Gleitschirm nach EN-A der richtige. Das hat folgende Gr├╝nde: Zum einen habe ich mit einem solch sicheren Schirm ein deutlich entspannteres Gef├╝hl und kann mehr genie├čen, da ich nicht st├Ąndig aktiv fliegen muss. Zum anderen bieten moderne Einsteiger-Gleitschirme Flugleistungen, die sich vor denen von Intermediates nicht mehr verstecken m├╝ssen. Es macht f├╝r mich also keinen Sinn h├Âhere Sicherheit gegen einen kleinen Leistungszuwachs zu tauschen.

Gewichtsbereich

Ausschlaggebend f├╝r die Wahl des richtigen Gleitschirms f├╝r Dich ist neben der Klassifizierung auch der zul├Ąssige Gewichtsbereich des Schirms. Das bedeutet, dass die jeweiligen Modelle in verschiedenen Gr├Â├čen zur Verf├╝gung stehen und demnach auch mehr oder weniger Gewicht tragen k├Ânnen. Ein direkter Zusammenhang besteht dabei innerhalb eines Gleitschirmmodells zwischen der projizierten (ausgelegten) Fl├Ąche und dem Pilotengewicht. Bei Gleitschirmen wird dabei immer mit einem Gewichtsbereich gearbeitet, also keine Panik, wenn du dir ├╝ber den Winter ein kleines Polster zugelegt hast ­čśë. Ist der Gleitschirm deiner Wahl beispielsweise von 85kg bis 105kg zugelassen und dein Gurtzeug samt Rettung und allem Klimbim drum herum wiegt z.B. 15kg, darfst du 70kg bis 90kg auf die Waage bringen. Es wird also immer das Gesamtpaket, welches als Pendel unter dem Tuch h├Ąngt, betrachtet. Der Sinn hinter der Einteilung der Gewichtsklassen ist folgender: Durch ein h├Âheres Gewicht erh├Âht sich die Fl├Ąchenbelastung auf den Gleitschirm, wodurch dieser schneller und stabiler wird, aber auch st├Ąrker sinkt. Andersherum f├╝hrt eine geringere Fl├Ąchenbelastung zu einer niedrigeren Sinkrate, aber auch erh├Âhter Gefahr von Klappern durch ├Ąu├čere Einfl├╝sse. Ein Unter- oder ├ťberschreiten der Gewichtsangaben f├╝hrt somit zu einer ├änderung des Schirmverhalten und unter Umst├Ąnden zu einer Verlagerung der Klassifizierung. Wer also meint ein besonders schweres Souvenir vom Startplatz mitnehmen zu m├╝ssen, darf sich nicht wundern, wenn er pl├Âtzlich einen EN-B-Schirm ins Tal fliegt, obwohl EN-A draufsteht ÔÇŽ naja vielleicht etwas ├╝bertrieben, aber denkt an den zul├Ąssigen Gewichtsbereich!

Intermediates

Sogenannte Intermediates sind Gleitschirme f├╝r Piloten mit viel Praxis und regelm├Ą├čiger Flugerfahrung. Sie sind die richtigen Gleitschirme f├╝r Personen, die aus der Einsteigerklasse aufsteigen m├Âchten und sich nach etwas mehr Leistung und Agilit├Ąt sehnen. Ohne Kompromiss ist dies aber leider nicht zu gew├Ąhrleisten, sodass auch ein deutlich gesteigertes Pilotenk├Ânnen vorhanden sein muss. Bevor es also an die ├ťberlegung zum Kauf eines Intermediates geht, solltest Du dich realistisch als sicheren, ge├╝bten Piloten sehen, dem auch turbulentes Wetter und besondere Flugzust├Ąnde keine Schwei├čperlen auf die Stirn treiben. Falls das noch nicht ganz zutrifft, lieber noch etwas l├Ąnger mit dem Beginner-Schirm hantieren. Die Klassifizierung f├╝r Intermediate-Schirme sind EN-B und EN-C bzw. LTF 2.

Leichtausr├╝stung

Ein weiterer Punkt ist das geplante Einsatzgebiet des Gleitschirms. So muss ├╝berlegt werden ob mit der Ausr├╝stung eine l├Ąngere Strecke an Land zur├╝ckgelegt wird, oder ob ihr mit einer Aufstiegshilfe zum Startplatz kommt.

Aus eigener Erfahrung ist ein zweist├╝ndiger Aufstieg mit einem riesigen Rucksack von 20 Kilo Masse nicht besonders am├╝sant ÔÇô die Schwerpunktlage brachte meinen R├╝cken zur Wei├čglut und er verordnete mir eine Zwangspause nach der anderen. Abhilfe h├Ątte hier eine leichtere Ausr├╝stung in Form eines Leichtschirms mit passendem Gurtzeug gebracht.

Wer also gerne Hike & Fly betreibt ist mit einer solchen, aber meist teureren L├Âsung besser bedient. Doch Vorsicht ÔÇô hier geht die Handlichkeit am Boden deutlich zu Lasten der Haltbarkeit und ├╝berwiegend haben solche Ausr├╝stungen nichts in den Fingern von Anf├Ąngern zu suchen. Denn ein oftmals anspruchsvolles Flugverhalten und verschlei├čanf├Ąllige Leinen und T├╝cher taugen nicht f├╝r die Schulung oder Groundhandling.

Hochleister

Du hast es richtig drauf und beherrschst das Gleitschirmfliegen im Schlaf? Dein Performance-Schirm der Klasse LTF 2 bzw. EN-C macht dir nichts mehr vor und du hast unz├Ąhlige Flugstunden auf dem Buckel? Dann kannst du dich in die K├Ânigsklasse wagen ÔÇô wenn du dich traust.

Eine enorme Streckung, gro├če Spannweiten und hohe Geschwindigkeiten verlangen dem Piloten alles ab, aber belohnen auch mit der gr├Â├čtm├Âglichen Leistungsentfaltung.

Vorsicht, nur f├╝r besonders ge├╝bte Piloten geeignet!

Wo finde ich den richtigen Gleitschirm?

Der beste Weg seinen neuen Gleitschirm zu finden w├Ąre nat├╝rlich eine ausgiebige Beratung im Fachgesch├Ąft und am besten noch ein Probeflug. Durchaus machbar f├╝r denjenigen, dessen Konten es hergibt, m├╝ssen viele andere unter Umst├Ąnden auf den Gebrauchtmarkt zur├╝ckgreifen. Dieser bietet viel Auswahl, aber auch viel ranzige Ausr├╝stung zu ├╝berh├Âhten Preisen. Hier ist also Vorsicht geboten und das in vielerlei Hinsicht. Ich empfehle die Ware mindestens pers├Ânlich anzuschauen und auszulegen um eventuell versteckte Fehler sehen zu k├Ânnen. Am besten w├Ąre nat├╝rlich auch hier den Schirm aufzuziehen oder sogar ein Probeflug, wenn m├Âglich. Auch ein Abgleich mit den alten Nachpr├╝fungsunterlagen bringt oftmals Licht ins Dunkle. Selbstverst├Ąndlich m├╝ssen auch hier alle Papiere und Unterlagen stimmen und das Siegel am Gleitschirm verglichen werden. G├Ąngige Quellen f├╝r den Gebrauchtkauf sind neben dem DHV-Gebrauchtmarkt auch die ├╝blichen Kleinanzeigenportale.

Worauf muss ich beim richtigen Gleitschirm achten?

  • Klassifizierung
  • Gewichtsbereich
  • Unterlagen: Betriebsanweisung, Nachpr├╝fanweisung, Kennzeichnung am Ger├Ąt (Zulassung!)
  • Zustand
  • Kompatibilit├Ąt zum Gurtzeug

ÔÇŽ und f├╝r die ├ästhetiker unter uns nat├╝rlich die Farbe ­čśë

Welcher ist der richtige Gleitschirm f├╝r mich? ÔÇô Zusammenfassung

Die Wahl des richtigen Gleitschirms h├Ąngt im Grunde genommen von zwei ausschlaggebenden Faktoren ab. Zum einen ist das Pilotenk├Ânnen der Parameter ├╝ber den die Klassifizierung des Schirms gew├Ąhlt wird. Dabei gilt es lieber etwas sicherer zu w├Ąhlen, als nachher mit dem Fliegen ├╝berfordert zu sein und ein Unfallrisiko einzugehen. Auf der anderen Seite spielt, wie bei jedem anderen Flugger├Ąt auch, die Zuladung eine wichtige Rolle. So sollte der Pilot mit seiner Ausr├╝stung den zul├Ąssigen Gewichtsbereich des Gleitschirms niemals unter- oder ├╝berschreiten. Zu guter Letzt ist auch immer die Musterzulassung beziehungsweise die Kennzeichnung am Ger├Ąt selber zu ├╝berpr├╝fen, bevor es an die weitere Auswahl geht.